Skip to content
09.27.07 / inko9nito

IvanAnywhere on Wikipedia

EDIT: If you want to know more about the robot you can view my Wikipedia article about it. If you have more info – please update the article. Thanks 🙂

I didn’t know what page to edit or what to write about, so I just decided to expand on my previous blog entry about IvanAnywhere.

Actually, I first wanted add some information about a song by a Russian rock band called Nautilus Pompilius. The only thing I could add was the lyrics (I was surprised they weren’t already there) because I couldn’t find any more information about it, but that wasn’t a very “substantial” addition to the article :). In case you are wondering what all those weird letters mean – the song is called “The Last Letter” or “Goodbye, America” which is about the deficit of public goods during the time of USSR and comparing it to the abundance of it in US. A few lines from the song:

Your faded jeans
Are too small for me.
We were taught for so long
To love your forbidden fruits.

No, it’s not one of those national anthem-type songs with a choir of loud-singing, patriotic-sounding women. As stated above, it’s a rock band, it’s just that their song repertoire consists mostly of social commentary on the current situation (not so current anymore, they broke up in 1997) in Russia. Of course they do throw some love songs in there, who doesn’t?

Anyway, back to Ivan: the reason I decided to write about this robot was because when I wrote my blog entry about it, I noticed that it received 2 or 3 hits from a search engine request about “IvanAnywhere.” I realized there was not that much information about him floating around – just one original article and others that basically summarize or flat-out copy it.

I wasn’t really sure where to start so I figured the best way would be to learn from other articles, so I looked at the one on the iPod and how it was broken into sections. So, I tried to follow a similar layout.

Naturally, I wanted to add a picture, but the horrifying instructions and warnings about copyright violations quickly changed my mind about it. I did, however, email the photographer to see if it was okay (UPDATE: and it wasn’t) to use the picture. I’m not sure if that’s how you do it but it was worth a try.

Leave a Reply

