Skip to content
11.25.07 / inko9nito

Record Sound from Your Browser

If you ever wanted to record sound from YouTube videos or Flash players on your favorite band’s site now you can! Well, you could’ve done that for a while now, but I just now found out about it.

Anyway, the plugin is called FreeCorder and you can get it for Firefox and even IE (of all things), and the new version even works on Vista (you poor, poor soul…). Download it here.

So after you install the plugin, it adds a hideous little toolbar to your browser with a bunch of buttons. Before you start recording, go to Settings and under Prompt for Filename select Before Recording. I didn’t do that on my first try and thought it was recording. When it was done the file was nonexistent. Not sure what happened there, but after I changed the prompt thing it worked. No need to change anything else. You have the option of MP3 and WAV. Mine was an MP3 and it played back flawlessly.

The only drawback is the annoying toolbar which adds 26 pixels of extra chrome, so after recording what I needed, I had to disable it, which is easy enough.

12 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. vinoth / Jan 27 2009 2:00 am

    thanks ya……but the link is showing error

  2. inko9nito / Jan 27 2009 2:03 am

    You sure? I just tested out all of them and they all link to the site and the download page. Here it is again: http://applian.com/freecorder3/download.php

  3. Lynn / May 15 2009 4:54 pm

    THANKS! This is great! I was seconds away from throwing my computer across the room b/c the audio program I was using, doesn’t work the same on Visa, argh…

    My pc says thanks too, for saving it’s life.

  4. Madness / Jun 21 2009 1:08 pm

    I luf u so much {hug} ^.^ tnx for the share (:

  5. me / Jul 7 2009 11:12 pm

    it’s freak ASK.COM spam

  6. Alimoe / Jan 7 2010 4:34 pm

    Girl, You’re a dime! Thank you for solving my problem! All this week I’ve been trying to extract a song i couldn’t find anywhere to buy or download and here you are! You solved the problem just like that. Thank you for that! I was that poor soul for real trying to find that song i wanted (It’s very rare), and you helped me out a lot. I hope you’ll read this post sweetheart. P.S. you’re beautiful too;) Thank you again!

  7. Juan Ramos / Apr 11 2010 5:15 pm

    I Want to Try it to see how it Works Thank you!!

  8. andrei / May 11 2010 6:48 pm

    it work perfect

  9. Kevin Gallagher / Nov 15 2010 10:16 pm

    Thankyou for this great tip hun, the software seems a bit spammy but im only usin it with iexplore when i want to record sound anyway. I just got the bucky o’hare theme on my phone because of you! XX

  10. Mario Lopes / Dec 16 2010 7:02 am

    Hi
    This extension doesn’t work in Google Chrome . Is possible to put it to work in google chrome?
    Thank you

  11. mike / May 12 2012 7:25 pm

    Thank you soooo much………..

  12. Ellen / Nov 11 2012 4:52 am

    Freecorder contains viruses

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

