Skip to content
12.14.07 / inko9nito

Disable System Beep on Windows

I just reinstalled XP and noticed that when I try to backspace past the end of a text box (or any text field, really), there is a really loud and annoying beep “oddly enough” called a “system beep.”

How to disable the system beep:

  1. Right-click on My Computer
  2. Click on Device Manager in the list on the left
  3. Go to View –> Show hidden devices
  4. Under Non-Plug and Play Drivers right-click on Beep and select Properties
  5. Under Driver tab in Startup field select Disabled
  6. Restart (you weren’t expecting that, were you? 😉 )
  7. Enjoy your beep-free computer!

The System Beep Mystery

This whole system beep problem kind of interested me. I haven’t had that problem before, on my previous install or on any of my previous computers, so I looked up the search trends for “system beep” on Google Adwords Keyword Tool. It didn’t show me any numerical values but when I compared the Dec 2006 bar to Nov 2007 bar, there was approximately a 40% increase in searches.

What’s going on!? Is it a common Windows problem now?

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. inko9nito / Apr 2 2009 12:48 pm

    That doesn’t disable it, that just covers up the problem.

  2. Deightine / May 31 2009 3:25 pm

    Thank you so much for this little walkthrough, it just made life easier when typing in libraries. That beep was quite piercing and audible even when the volume on my laptop was set to Mute. Very annoying.

    For Vista: Locate ‘Device Manager’ via Control Panel, otherwise all of the directions are the same.

Leave a Reply

